Seeking Jesus

Luke 19:47 And he taught daily in the temple. But the chief priests and the scribes and the chief of the people sought to destroy him,

I’ve read through the gospels at least twice this past year and it always bothers me that the Pharisees, etc, were so desperate on seeking a way to destroy Jesus that they followed Him, constantly honing attention on Him, all for evil. I often think is my attention so intently focused on Him for good? Why am I comfortable in Zion… sloppy? At the end of this chapter again it shows that they were trying to destroy Jesus as a matter of fact. Devil filled men… is it not the devil’s aim to seek, kill and destroy?

Luke 19:1-9 And Jesus entered and passed through Jericho. And, behold, there was a man named Zacchaeus, which was the chief among the publicans, and he was rich. And he sought to see Jesus who he was; and could not for the press, because he was little of stature. And he ran before, and climbed up into a sycomore tree to see him: for he was to pass that way. And when Jesus came to the place, he looked up, and saw him, and said unto him, Zacchaeus, make haste, and come down; for to day I must abide at thy house. And he made haste, and came down, and received him joyfully. And when they saw it, they all murmured, saying, That he was gone to be guest with a man that is a sinner. And Zacchaeus stood, and said unto the Lord: Behold, Lord, the half of my goods I give to the poor; and if I have taken any thing from any man by false accusation, I restore him fourfold. And Jesus said unto him, This day is salvation come to this house, forsomuch as he also is a son of Abraham.

However, reading this first little bit about Zacchaeus this morning had me thinking the same thing again… do I have that urgency to seek Jesus? Would I climb a tree… aka… go out of my way to just see who He is?

I think that Jesus honored him and stopped because of the fact that he sought Him so intently! Jesus said before… Seek my face, seek first the Kingdom of God, see Me and live. Zacchaeus did just that and I think God honored it. At the very end of this passage, I noticed one thing- once we meet Jesus something changes… things are never the same. Repentance occurs. Lord, I used to be that, but by your grace I’m going to turn away from it and be completely 180% different.

Leave a comment