From Your Heart

Matthew 18:21-35 Then came Peter to him, and said, Lord, how oft shall my brother sin against me, and I forgive him? till seven times? Jesus saith unto him, I say not unto thee, Until seven times: but, Until seventy times seven. Therefore is the kingdom of heaven likened unto a certain king, which would take account of his servants. And when he had begun to reckon, one was brought unto him, which owed him ten thousand talents. But forasmuch as he had not to pay, his lord commanded him to be sold, and his wife, and children, and all that he had, and payment to be made. The servant therefore fell down, and worshipped him, saying, Lord, have patience with me, and I will pay thee all. Then the lord of that servant was moved with compassion, and loosed him, and forgave him the debt. But the same servant went out, and found one of his fellowservants, which owed him an hundred pence: and he laid hands on him, and took him by the throat, saying, Pay me that thou owest. And his fellowservant fell down at his feet, and besought him, saying, Have patience with me, and I will pay thee all. And he would not: but went and cast him into prison, till he should pay the debt. So when his fellowservants saw what was done, they were very sorry, and came and told unto their lord all that was done. Then his lord, after that he had called him, said unto him, O thou wicked servant, I forgave thee all that debt, because thou desiredst me: Shouldest not thou also have had compassion on thy fellowservant, even as I had pity on thee? And his lord was wroth, and delivered him to the tormentors, till he should pay all that was due unto him. So likewise shall my heavenly Father do also unto you, if ye from your hearts forgive not every one his brother their trespasses.

In Matthew 18:21-35 lies a treasure deep in the parable where the King forgives an enormous debt and the debtor then goes and attacks a fellow man for owing just a small amount immediately after he’s been pardoned.


How often we are unforgiving of one another! Or worse… grudge-bearers. Someone wrongs us and we just can’t let it go. We expect the Lord to forgive us wholly and completely without remembering our offenses (if He didn’t who could stand?!) and yet we hold onto the most petty of things that others do to us. Really shameful. It hit hard for me. Something has recently happened in my life and instead of letting it go and continuing on clinging to God even tighter and basking in the promise HE will never leave nor forsake me (pausing for a moment to brag Him up, isn’t it funny how some people are too busy, or just don’t want to give you the time of day and yet, and this amazes me new every day!, the King of Glory bends to hear each prayer we pray, each song we sing to Him He’s never too busy and He never ignores! Praise the Lord! He never gives us a time limit. He never says you can only pray once a day. He invites us to pray and commune with Him! He’s so wonderful!), I held onto my hurt. Isn’t it true that bitterness only festers? Yes, yes it does. So the parable really hit home with convictions. After all, I’m not responsible for others thoughts, behavior or actions, just mine!

  1. Our sin, so great, was forgiven and pardoned by Jesus. In the scripture the gross debtor says “I will repay”. We can NEVER repay or buy our salvation!
  2. Don’t vengeful, seeking revenge. That’s the Lord’s job, not ours. Instead, bring ever hurt, care, anxiety to Him… and leave it there!
  3. Those who can’t forgive should check themselves. A new creation is supposed to bear fruit of the Spirit. Bitterness, resentment, a spirit of unforgiveness and revenge aren’t trademarks of a believer.
  4. Three words added v 35 changed the entire passage for me in a new way I’d never seen it before “So likewise shall my heavenly Father do also unto you, if ye FROM YOUR HEARTS forgive not every one his brother their trespasses.” From your hearts? I never saw that before!
    Forgiveness, just like seeking apologies, has to be done with utmost sincerity.

Leave a comment