Lord, Save Me!

Matthew 14:28-31 And Peter answered him and said, Lord, if it be thou, bid me come unto thee on the water. And he said, Come. And when Peter was come down out of the ship, he walked on the water, to go to Jesus. But when he saw the wind boisterous, he was afraid; and beginning to sink, he cried, saying, Lord, save me. And immediately Jesus stretched forth his hand, and caught him, and said unto him, O thou of little faith, wherefore didst thou doubt?

You know, I love Peter. I love his exuberance for Christ. I love his love for Him. I love his faith that he didn’t even think twice about coming on the water to be with Jesus… that was faith. But he failed. He looked around at the winds that were boisterous, and when he took his eyes off of Jesus, he began to sink. We know the story! We know that after Peter cried out, “Lord save me!” that Jesus immediately stretched forth His hand and caught him. Jesus is willing to save.

I understand that it’s different from just sitting on the couch and actually drowning in waters, however Peter knew at that instant he failed in the faith department, yet he didn’t, like Adam and Eve, try to hide his sin from God. Instead, repentance fell quickly upon him. Yes, there was the urgency of sinking but I believe that it was a repentant sorrowful spirit that he had failed God who had just hours earlier shown such a profound miracles, feeding 5000.

If only we could be more like that. When we sin , cry out in repentance, “Lord, save me!” God is willing. The God that Peter stood beside in the waves is the same God we serve today… Jesus Christ. The same yesterday, today, and forever. Why hide our sins from Him know knows all?

Leave a comment